Friday, January 04, 2008

Sevens in Leviticus, Judges, and Revelation

Leviticus is built around sevens and is about holiness.
Every seventh day a Sabbath. Every seventh year a sabbatical year. Pentecost is seven weeks after Passover. Pentecost lasts seven days. Passover lasts seven days. In seventh month were feasts of Shofars, Yom Kippur, and Tabernacles.

Judges is built around sevens and is about sinfulness.
In Judges we see seven apostasies, seven servitudes to seven heathen nations with seven deliverances under fourteen judges.

Revelation is built around sevens and is about the destinies of holiness and sinfulness.
Seven churches, seven seals, seven attributes of God (Rev. 7:12), 7000 killed in an earthquake, seven years, seven-heads of seven hills, seven angels with seven plagues, seven bowls.

Things I wish I had time to study.